Electrical Business License
When is an Electrical Contractor's Business License Required?
An Electrical Contractor's Business License is required for any person, firm, company, corporation or partnership in the business of installing, repairing, or maintaining any electrical wiring or device designed for conducting, consuming or converting electrical current.
What Types of Electrical Contractor's Business Licenses Are Requried?
- Restricted to a specific type of electrical work (e.g., signs, telephones, heating/air conditioning)
- Restricted to electrical work performed in a specific location (e.g., on-site maintenance for apartment buildings)
- Capable of performing any kind of electrical work
Is There a Law that Applies?
Montgomery County Code Search Chapter 17
Annotated Code of the State of Maryland
What is the Appliction Process?
An application form must be submitted along, with a certificate of insurance showing Montgomery County as the certificate holder, with liability limits of: $300,000 for bodily injury, $300,000 for property damage, or a combined single limit of $600,000. The Board of Electrical Examiners reviews the application and supporting documents for accuracy and approves or disapproves the application.
The Montgomery County Board of Electrical Examiners require that all applicants for new Montgomery County electrical business and renewal electrical business licenses submit a copy of their State of Maryland Business license with every application package. The State of Maryland business license may be obtained from your local jurisdiction Circuit Court of Maryland.
What will the License Cost?
The license fee is $184.00 for two years. The fee is $88.00 per year plus a 5% Automation Enhancement Fee is charged on the cost(s) listed above.
What Conditions of Licensing, if not met, Could Affect Obtaining an Electrical Permit?
- Expired certificate of insurance
- Expired Master Electrician's License
- Expired Electrical Contractor's Business License
How is the License Renewed?
Electrical Business’ licenses expire every two years. Renewal notices are usually mailed to the licensee's last known address six to eight weeks prior to expiration of the license, however it is ultimately the licensee’s responsibility to ensure their license is renewed in a timely fashion. Written change-of-address notifications are critical to the renewal process.
In order to renew an Electrical Business license, the electrical master or business owner must complete the renewal form which can be found here:
In addition to the completed application, applicants must also provide a current copy of the Business’ certificate of Liability Insurance with Montgomery County Department of Permitting Services listed as the certificate holder AND a current copy of the Business’ State of Maryland Business License they obtained at the Maryland Circuit Court in which they registered the business with.
The fee for renewal is $184 00 for two years. The fee is $88.00 per year plus a 5% Automation Enhancement Fee.
What are the Consequences of Failure to Renew a License?
Renewal applications received more than ten(10) business days after the expiration date of the license are subject to a late renewal fee of $59.00. Renewal applications received more than six(6) months after the expiration date will not be accepted. An additional 5% Automation Enhancement Fee is charged on the cost(s) listed above.