A Master Electrician's License is required when an electrical contractor wishes to obtain a permit to perform electrical work in Montgomery County.
There are three types of Master Electricians' Licenses. Depending on the extent of work to be performed by the electrical contractor, one of the following licenses will be required:
The license is restricted to specific types of electrical work (e.g., heat/air conditioning, signs, or telephones) or specific locations (e.g., apartment buildings).
The licensee may perform any type of electrical work throughout the County
The licensee meets all requirements for a Master Electrician's License, but has no business affiliation. This class of master may not obtain permits, but may work as a Journeyman Electrician.
Montgomery County Code , Search Chapter 17
Annotated Code of the State of Maryland.
Master Electrician's Licenses may be obtained by examination or by reciprocity (by using a qualifying license from the State of Maryland or another jurisdiction in Maryland). These methods have different requirements. (See the application and instructions for complete information). An application, applicable fee, and a current front-faced photo are required to apply for a license. The photo will be used to produce a photo ID card.
In Montgomery County, licensed electricians are required to carry their photo ID's on job sites. Electricians without ID's may be sent away from job sites or fined by County inspectors.
The Board of Electrical Examiners reviews the application and supporting documents.
A completed application form is required, along with letters of reference verifying a minimum of eight (8) years of experience under the supervision of a Master Electrician. Also required is a payment of $78.75 (examination fee of $75.00 plus an additional 5% Automation Enhancement Fee charged on the cost).
Approved applicants will receive a letter specifying the time, date and place of their examination. Disapproved applicants will receive a letter specifying the reason(s) for disapproval. Disapproved applicants may appeal directly to the Board of Electrical Examiners. Requests should be submitted in writing to the Department of Permitting Services.
Applicants receive a letter specifying the exam score and requesting the license fee of $184.80 for two years. The fee is $88.00 base fee per year plus a 5% Automation Enhancement Fee. At this point the applicant must either:
After receipt of the fee and required information, the license, photo ID, and fee receipt are mailed to the applicant, usually within two weeks. An additional 5% Automation Enhancement Fee is charged on the cost(s) listed above.
Applicants receive a letter stating the exam scores, along with an application for re-examination. The fee for re-examination is $32.55 ($31.00 plus an additional 5% Automation Enhancement fee). Applicants may retest at the next available test date. An additional 5% Automation Enhancement Fee is charged on the cost(s) listed above.
Electrical Master’s license expire every two years. Renewal notices are usually mailed to the licensee's last known address six to eight weeks prior to expiration of the license, however it is ultimately the licensee’s responsibility to ensure their license is renewed in a timely fashion. Written change-of-address notifications are critical to the renewal process.
In order to renew Master’s must complete the renewal form which can be found here: http://permittingservices.montgomerycountymd.gov/DPS/pdf/ApplicationForRenewalElectricianLicense.pdf
If the Master did not test with the Montgomery County Board of Examiners in order to obtain their license initially, they must provide with the completed application a current copy of the Electrical Masters license from the jurisdiction they reciprocated from. The fee for renewal is $184.80 total for two years. The fee is an $88.00 base fee per year the license if valid plus a 5% Automation Enhancement Fee).
A photo is needed in order to generate the renewed ID card. Photos may be submitted in of the three following ways:
1.) E-mail a headshot picture in JPEG format to DPSElectricalPhotos.Email@montgomerycountymd.gov
2.) Mail a headshot picture on a CD in JPEG format to Montgomery County Department of Permitting Services at 255 Rockville Pike, 2nd Floor Rockville MD, 20850-4166.
3.) Come into the DPS office, sign-in at the information desk, and meet with a permit technician face-to-face. We can take you photo and create a license card while you are in the office.
Renewal applications received more than ten (10) business days after the expiration date of the license are subject to a late renewal fee of $61.95 ($59.00 plus an additonal 5% Automation Enhancement fee). Renewal applications received more than six (6) months beyond the expiration date will not be accepted.
|Application for Electrical Business License Company or Corporation|
|Application for Electrical Business License Sole Proprietorship or Partnership|
|Application for Electrical License Examination|
|Application for Electrical Reciprocal License - Other Jurisdictions|
|Procedure for Reciprocal License - Other Jurisdictions|
|Application for Electrical Reciprocal License - Statewide|
|Procedure for Reciprocal License - Statewide|
|Application for Electrical Re-Examination|
|Application for Renewal Electrical License|
|Fees and Taxes|
|Fee Schedules||Executive Regulations|
|Automation Enhancement Fee||Automation Enhancement Fee|
|Credit Card Authorization Form||Credit Card Authorization Form|
|General Bond Information||Bond Information|
|Codes, Standards, Executive Regulations|
|Montgomery County Code||National Electrical Code|
|Guidelines, Memorandum of Understandings, Interpretations|
|None at this Time|
|Residential Inspections||Commercial Electrical Inspections|
|Frequently Asked Questions|
|311 Web Portal: Enter key word "Electrical License"||http://www3.montgomerycountymd.gov/311|
|Online Permitting Status Information and Inspections|
|Online Data Seach||Search DPS|
|Call for More Information|
|In Montgomery County||311|
|Outside of Montgomery County||240-777-0311|
|Board of Electrical Examiners Hotline||240-777-6347|
|Other Agencies to Contact|
|Other Agencies and Utilities to Contact||Allegheny Power|
|American Institute of Architects (AIA)|
|American National Standards Institute (ANSI)|
|American Society of Heating, Refrigerating & Air Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE)|
|Baltimore Gas & Electric Co. (BG&E)|
|Board of Appeals|
|International Code Council (ICC)|
|Maryland Department of Assessments and Taxation|
|Maryland Department of the Environment|
|Maryland Division of State Documents|
|Masonry Institute of America (MIA)|
|National Glass Association (NGA)|
|MNCPPC: Historic Area Work Permits|
|MNCPPC: MC Atlas|
|National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)|
|Potomac Electric Power Company (PEPCO)|
|U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) by Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL)|
|Washington Gas Light Co.|