MONTGOMERY COUNTY
EXECUTIVE REGULATION

Offices of the County Executive . 101 Monroe Sireet . Rockyille, Maryland 20850

Subject: , Number, 14-137
Schedule of Fees for Permils, Licenses and Cedifications - METHOD 2

September 9, 2013
Oniginating Department: DEPARTMENT OF PERMITTING SERVICES Effeclive Date: '

Montgomery County Regulation on:
SCHEDULE OF FEES FOR PERMITS, LICENSES AND CERTIFICATIONS — METHOD 2

DEPARTMENT OF PERMITTING SERVICES

Issued by: County Executive
Regulation No. 14-13T
COMCOR No. 08.14,61

Authority: Montgomery County Code (2004) Sections 8-13, 8-14, 8-24B, 8-25, 8-28, 17-2, 17-10, 17-20,
17-25, 17-27,
27a-5(E), 22-13, 47-2, 47-7

Council review: Method 2 under Code Section 2A-15
Effective Date: September 9, 2013

SUMMARY: This Executive Regulation updates the reference to Executive Regulation 5-98, in
section X. Miscellaneous B. to Executive Regulation 13-13 which changes the Automation
Enhancement Fee from 10% to 5%.

STAFF CONTACT; Hadi Mansouri, Chief
Division of Building Construction
240-777-6233

ADDRESS: Department of Permitting Services
255 Rockville Pike, Second Floor
Rockville, Maryland 20850

BACKGROUND INFORMATION: The Department of Permitting Services was established as a fee-
supported enterprise within the Executive Branch of Montgomery County in 1996. Revenues that support
the Department are established under these Method 2 Executive Regulations and by County Council
resolution.
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MONTGOMERY COUNTY
EXECUTIVE REGULATION

Offices of the County Executive . 101 Monroe Street . Rockville, Maryland 20850

Subject:

Schedule of Fees for Permils, Licenses and Cettifications - METHOD 2

Number: 14-13T

September 9, 2013

Originating Department: DEPARTMENT OF PERMITTING SERVICES Effective Dafe:

COMCOR 08.14.01 Schedule of Fees for Permits, Licenses and Certifications ~ Method 2

08.14.01.01. Building Permits With Maryland-National Capital Park And

Planning Commission (MNCPPC) Site Plan Approval

A. Qeneral

1.

All fees required by this section must be paid prior to release of the permit. Construction,
including excavation, must not begin until all fees are paid.

A filing fee must be paid at the time of application submittal. Filing fees are included in the
permit fee. ' ‘

Permit fees are calculated and collected for each permit application. When an application
includes multiple buildings, a separate fee will be assessed to each building or for each
mailing address.

For the purposes of calculating the permit fee residential is defined as detached one- and two-
family dwellings and townhouses not more than three stories above grade plane in height
with a separate means of egress.

For the purposes of calculating the permit fee for commercial buildings, the following shall
apply:

Each portion of a building separated by one or more fire walls or horizontal
- assemblies (3 hrs), shall be considered as a separate building. Two or more
buildings on the same lot shall be treated as separate buildings.

6. Plan revision fees are in addition to the initial permit fees.

7. Plan revisions are considered changes made by the applicant to the approved construction

documents.

B. One- and Two-Family Dwellings and Related Accessory Structures

1.

Application filing fee for new-building construction

a. One- and two-family-detached dwelling unit per dwelling unit: ~ $1175
b. One- and two-family-attached dwelling unit per dwelling unit $545
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Su.biect: Number: 14137
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September 9, 2013
Originating Department: DEPARTMENT OF PERMITTING SERVICES Effective Date:

2. Application filing fee for addition, alteration or repair $310

3. Application filing fee for addition, alteration or repair to homes that utilize a private well or
septic system $340

4. New construction:
a. One- and two-family-detached dwelling unit per dwelling unif:
Gross floor area less than 5,000 square feet (SF)  $2,350
Gross floor area 5,000 SF but less that 7,500 SF  $3,345
Gross floor area 7,500 SF or more $4,355
b. One- and two-family-attached dwelling unit per dwelling unit $1,090

5. Alterations, or repair: $0.3535 per SF of the construction area

6. Additions — one and two family detached $0.4948 per SF of the construction area

7. Additions — one and two family attached $0.3535 per SF of constuction area

8. Private in-ground swimming pool (including fence) $ 480
9. Private above-ground swimming pool (incluéing fence) $ 250
10. Decks (opened unenclosed) 500 SF or less in area . $185
11, Decks (opened unenclosed) more than 500 SF in area $310
12. Retaining Walls $185
13. Accessory buildings: 200 SF or less $120

(Includes but is not limited to sheds, garages and gazebos)

14. Accessory buildings more than 200 SF: $0.3535 per SF
with -minimum fee of $310

15. Plan Revision: $0.3535 per SF of revised area or the application filing fee per occurrence,
whichever is greater. Each revision occurrence may include revision to one or more
disciplines. Plan revisions are considered changes made by the applicant to the approved
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September 9, 2013
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construction documents. Revisions submitted on different dates are considered separate
occurrences.

C.  Other Buildings and Structures

1.

Application-filing fee for construction, alteration, .
addition (per occurrence);  30% of permit fee or $825 whichever is greater

New construction and additions: Permit fee is based on the cost of construction as
determined by using the latest valuation data and procedures, as published by the
International Code Council. The director will provide a worksheet and a formula that
includes the latest numerical values of the valuation data and the local permit-fee multiplier
to be used in determining the fee. An applicant must provide building dimensions, square
footage, use group, construction type, and numbers of floors including basements, in order
for the fee to be calculated. The cost of construction is determined by DPS.

a. If the calculated cost of construction is equal to or less than $8,000,000 the permit
fee is the cost of construction multiplied by the local permit-fee multiplier $0.0301.

b. If the calculated cost of construction is greater than $8,000,000 the permit fee is the
sum of the fee in 2(a) PLUS the cost of construction of excess amount over
$8,000,000 (to a maximum $50,000,000) multiplied by $0.003. MPDU units are
excluded from this additional calculation.

. Repairs, alterations and accessory structures: Permit fee is based on the cost of

construction as provided by the applicant multiplied by the local permit fee multiplier.
However, the department may verify and recalculate the cost estimation submitted by the
applicant by using the latest valuation data and procedures, as published by the
International Code Council. The applicant may be required to provide construction bid
documents. The director will provide a worksheet and a formula that includes the latest
numerical values of the valuation data and the local permit-fee multiplier to be used in
determining the fee. An applicant must provide building dimensions, square footage, use
group, construction type, and numbers of floors including basements, in order for the fee to
be calculated.

a. Ifthe cost of construction is equal to or less than $8,000,000 the permit fee is the
cost of construction multiplied by the local permit-fee multiplier $0.0301.

b, Ifthe cost of construction is greater than $8,000,000 the permit fee is the sum of the
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fee in 3(a) PLUS the cost of construction of excess amount over $8,000,000 (to a
maximum $50,000,000) multiplied by $0.003. MPDU units are excluded from this

additional calculation.

4. Plan Revisions: Fees are $825 or calculated in accordance with sections C.2. or C.3. above
per occurrence, whichever is greater. Each revision occurrence may include revision to one
or more disciplines. Plan revisions are considered changes made by the applicant to the
approved construction documents after the building permit has been issued. Revisions
submitted on different dates are considered separate occurrences.

D. Demolition Permit

E. Fence Permit

F.  Use-and-Occupancy Certificates

$ 360

$ 78

1. The fee for any commercial Use-and-Occupancy Certificate must be paid at the

time of application. The maximum fee is $12,265

2. The fee for any commercial Use-and-Occupancy Certificate for each building or
portion of a building or use is per square foot of area, as follows:

0 - 5,000 SF
5,001 — 10,000 SF
10,001 — 20,000 SF
20,001 SF and up

$ 440
$ 720
$ 860
$ 860 Plus

$0.0230 per SF of area exceeding 20,000 SF

3. The fee for a Use-and-Occupancy Certificate for lots or parcels without

buildings/structures on them is

$ 440

4. The inspection fee for using or occupying a site without a Use-and-Occupancy
Certificate is $ 185 in addition to the fee for the Use-and-Occupancy Certificate.

5. Residential Use and Occupancy Certificate

$145

6. Use and Occupancy — Fire Code Building Permit Inspection - see Section V. Fire Code

Building Permit Inspection Fees

G. Mechanical Permit
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I. A minimum fee of $ 65 applies to all Mechanical Permits issued to one- and two-family-
attached and -detached dwellings. This fee is in addition to the equipment fee listed in this

section.

2. A minimum fee of § 105 applies to all other Mechanical Permits. This fee is in addition to
the equipment fee listed in this section.

3. Except for one- and two-family attached and detached dwellings, the base mechanical
fee is 1.59% of the cost difference between the contract value and the value of listed
equipment. The Department may require evidence of the contract value and equipment
value. This fee is in addition to the equipment fee listed in this section. The following fee
schedule applies to each piece of equipment.

New, replacement and repaired equipment:

a. Heating equipment (includes, but is not limited to, heat pump auxiliary heat,
heating capacity of packaged units, duct heaters, VAV box heating elements,
gas-fired fireplaces, geo-thermal units, etc.):

Each 100 MBH or fraction $23

b. Cooling equipment (includes, but is not limited to, cooling capacity of heat pumps,
packaged units, cooling boxes, cooling equipment with compressors, etc.):

Each five ton capacity or fraction $23
¢. Fuel tanks:
Each 500 water gallons $52
d. Expansion tanks:
Each 50 water gallons $52
e. Pre-fabricated fireplace (includes wood stoves)
Each firebox $26
f. Pre-fabricated chimney
Each chimney $ 14
4. Consultation inspection {per hour or fraction) $135




MONTGOMERY COUNTY
EXECUTIVE REGULATION

Offices of the County Executive . 101 Monroe Street . Rockville, Maryland 20850

Subject: Number; 14-13T
Schedule of Fees for Permils, Licenses and Cerdifications — METHOD 2

: September 9, 2013
Criginafing Department: DEPARTMENT OF PERMITTING SERVICES Effeciive Date:

08.14.01.02. Building Permits Without Maryland-National Capital Park And
Planning Commission (MNCPPC) Site Plan Approval

A. General

1. All fees required by this section must be paid prior to release of the permit and
construction, including excavation, must not begin until all fees are paid.

2. A filing fee must be paid at the time of application submittal. Filing fees are included in
the permit fee.

3. Permit fees are calculated and collected for each permit application. When an application
includes multiple buildings, a separate fee will be assessed to each building or for each

mailing address, which ever results in the greater fee.

4. For the purposes of calculating the permit fee residential is defined as detached one- and two-
family dwellings and townhouses not more than three stories above grade plane in height with
a separate means of egress.

5. For the purposes of calculating the permit fee for commercial buildings, the following
shall apply:

Each portion of a building separated by one or more fire walls, or horizontal
assemblies (3 hrs) shall be considered as a separate building. Two or more
buildings on the same lot shall be treated as separate buildings.

6. Plan revision fees are in addition to the original or maximum permit fees.

7. Plan revisions are considered changes made by the applicant to the approved
construction documents.

B. One- and Two-Family Dwellings and Related Accessory Structures
1. Application filing fee for new-building construction

a. One- and two-family-detached dwelling unit per dwelling unit:  $738
b. One- and two-family-attached dwelling unit per dwelling unit $340

2. Application filing fee for addition, alteration or repair $190
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3. Application filing fee for addition, alteration or repair to homes that utilize a private
well or septic system $220

4, New construction:

a. One- and two-family-detached dwelling unit per dwelling unit:

Gross floor area less than 5,000 square feet (SF) $1,475
Gross floor area 5,000 SF but less than 7,500 SF $2,085
Gross floor area 7,500 SF or more $2,725
b. One- and two-family-attached dwelling unit per dwelling unit $ 680

5. Alterations or repair: $0.2209 per SF of the construction area
6. Additions — one and two family detached $0.3092 per SF of the construction area

7. Additions — one and two family attached $0.2209 per SF of the construction area

8. Private in-ground swimming pool (including fence) $ 295
9. Private above-ground swimming pool (including fence) $ 155
10. Decks (opened unenclosed) 500 SF or less in area 5110
11. Decks (opened unenclosed) more than 500 SF in area $ 190
12. Retaining Walls | $ 110

13. Accessory buildings: 200 SF or less
(Includes but is not limited to sheds, garages and gazebos) § 76
14. Accessory buildings more than 200 SF: $ 0.2209 per SF with a minimum fee of $190.

15. Plan Revision: $ 0.2209 per SF of revised area or the application filing fee per occurrence,
whichever is greater. Each revision occurrence may include revision to one or more
disciplines. Plan revisions are considered changes made by the applicant to approved

construction documents. Revisions submitted on different dates are considered separate
OCCUITences.
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C.

L.

Other Buildings and Structures

Application-filing fee for construction, alteration,
Addition (per occurrence);  30% of permit fee or $515 whichever is greater

New construction and additions: Permit fee is based on the cost of construction as
determined by using the latest valuation data and procedures, as published by the
International Code Council, The director will provide a worksheet and a formula that
includes the latest numerical values of the valuation data and the local permit-fee multiplier
to be used in determining the fee. An applicant must provide building dimenstons, square
footage, use group, construction type, and numbers of floors including basements, in order
for the fee to be calculated. The cost of construction is determined by DPS.

a. If the calculated cost of construction is equal to or less than $8,000,000 the permit
fee is the cost of construction multiplied by the local permit-fee multiplier $0.0188.

b. If the calculated cost of construction is greater than $8,000,000 the permit fee is the
sum of the fee in 2(a) PLUS the cost of construction of excess amount over
$8,000,000 (to a maximum $50,000,000) multiplied by $0.003. MPDU units are
excluded from this additional calculation.

Repairs, alterations and accessory structures: Permit fee is based on the cost of
construction as provided by the applicant multiplied by the local permit fee multiplier.
However, the department may verify and recalculate the cost estimation submitted by the
applicant by using the latest valuation data and procedures, as published by the
International Code Council. The applicant may be required to provide construction bid
documents. The director will provide a worksheet and a formula that includes the latest
numerical values of the valuation data and the local permit-fee multiplier to be used in
determining the fee. An applicant must provide building dimensions, square footage, use
group, construction type, and numbers of floors including basements, in order for the fee to
be calculated.

a. If the cost of construction is equal to or less than $8,000,000 the permit fee is the
cost of construction multiplied by the local permit-fee multiplier $0.0188.

b. If the cost of construction is greater than $8,000,000 the permit fee is the sum of the
fee in 3(a) PLUS the cost of construction of excess amount over $8,000,000 (to a
maximum $50,000,000) multiplied by $0.003. MPDU units are excluded from this
additional calculation.
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4.

Plan Revisions: Fees are $515 or calculated in accordance with sections C.2. or C.3. above
per occurrence, whichever is greater. Each revision occurrence may include revision to one
or more disciplines. Plan revisions are considered changes made by the applicant to the
approved construction documents after the building permit has been issued. Revisions
submitted on different dates are considered separate occurtrences.

D. Demolition Permit $ 230

E. Fence Permit $ 47

F. Use-and-Occupancy Certificates

1.

5.

The fee for any Use-and-Occupancy Certificate must be paid at the time of application.
The maximum fee is $§ 7,660.

The fee for any commercial Use-and-Occupancy Certificate for each building or portion of
a building or use is per square foot of area, as follows:

0 - 5,000 SF $270
5,001 ~ 10,000 SF $ 450
10,001 — 20,000 SF $ 530
20,001 SF and up $ 530 Plus

$0.0149 per SF of area exceeding 20,000 SF

The fee for a Use-and-Occupancy Certificate for lots or parcels without
buildings/structures on them is _ $270

The inspection fee for using or occupying a site without a Use-and-Occupancy
Certificate is $ 110 in addition to the fee for the Use-and-Occupancy Certificate.

Residential Use-and Occupancy Certificate $ 90

6. Use and Occupancy ~ Fire Code Building Permit Inspection — see Section V. Fire Code

Building Permit Inspection Fees

G. Mechanical Permit

1.

A minimum fee of $ 65 applies to all Mechanical Permits issued to one- and two-family-
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attached and -detached dwellings. This fee is in addition to the equipment fee listed in this
section.

2. A minimum fee of $ 105 applies to all other Mechanical Permits. This fee is in addition to
the equipment fee listed in this section.

3. Except for one- and two-family attached and detached dwellings, the base mechanical
fee is 1.59% of the cost difference between the contract value and the value of listed
equipment. The Department may require evidence of the contract value and equipment
value. This fee is in addition to the equipment fee listed in this section. The following fee
schedule applies to each piece of equipment.

New, replacement and repaired equipment:

a, Heating equipment (includes, but is not limited to, heat pump auxiliary heat,
heating capacity of packaged units, duct heaters, VAV box heating elements,
gas-fired fireplaces, geo-thermal units, etc.):

Each 100 MBH or fraction $ 23

b. Cooling equipment (includes, but is not limited to, cooling capacity of heat pumps,
packaged units, cooling boxes, cooling equipment with compressors, etc. ).

Each five ton capacity or fraction $ 23
¢. Fuel tanks:
Each 500 water gallons $ 52
d. Expansion tanks:
Each 50 water gallons $ 52
e. Pre-fabricated fireplace (includes wood stoves)
Each firebox $ 26
f.  Pre-fabricated chimney
Each chimney $ 14
4. Consulation inspection (per hour or fraction) $135
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08.14.01.03 Electrical Permit And License Fees

A. General

1. All fees required by this section must be paid before any permit is released, before any
electrical work may begin, and before any inspection may be made.

2. A minimum fee of § 90 applies to all electrical permits issued to one- and two-family
attached and detached dwellings. This fee is in addition to the equipment fee listed in this

section.

3. A minimum fee of § 150 applies to all other electrical permits. This fee is in addition to
the equipment fee listed in this section.

B. Electrical Permits

1. Air conditioners: Apply the motor schedule (see item 18.)

2. Appliances, small* $ 9each
* Such as air filters, automatic-vent amperes, clothes washers or dryers,
cooking appliances (stoves, ranges, built-ins), dishwashers, disposals,
fans, (exhaust, attic), humidifiers, sump pumps, trash compactors, water
heaters or other water-treatment appliances

3. Arc-vapor lamps, rectifiers or rheostat chargers for storage batteries $ 13 each
4. Battery packs $ 9each
5. Commercial new construction: This includes all branch circuit wiring, temporaries-

pending-final, equipment/applicances within the structure. These fees are applicable to
alternative power source — such as but not limited to: photovoltaic, wind furbine and

generators. g

Not over 100 Amps ' § 600
From 101 to 200 Amps $ 745
From 201 to 300 Amps $ 895
From 301 to 400 Amps $ 1,055
For services over 400 Amps: $ 1,055

plus $140 for each additional 100 Amps or fraction
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10.

11.

12,

13,

14,

I5.

I6.

17.

18.

Commercial tenant fit-ups, alterations, additions (includes all branch circuit wiring,
temporaries-pending-final, equipment/appliances within the space)

For low voltage or up to 20 devices : $ 155
For a single story up to 5,000 square feet $§ 230
For a single story from 5,001 ~ 10,000 square feet § 380
For a single story from 10,001 — 20,000 square feet § 450

For over 20,000 square feet or multi-story $ 520 per story

Control wiring for heating, air conditioning, duct heaters, air handlers, and motor-
control centers $ 21
Dental chairs ' $ 13

Electrical heating equipment (see motor schedule, item 18.)

Fire/security-alarm systems $ 38
Single-station smoke detectors (each) installed separately $ 4
First 20 fixtures $ 13
Each additional 10 (or fraction thereof) $ 9

Gasoline pumps (each) £ 9

Heating equipment (other than strictly electrical):
Residential or commercial: oil burners and gas burners,

including controls (each) $ 13
Modular/mobile home $ 90
Motion-picture booths and equipment (each) $ 90
Meter stacks -- replacements (each meter) $ 31

Motors, rotating machinery, transformers, switch boards, electrical heaters, air
conditioners, manually operated generators (assumes 1 kw or 1 kva =1 hp):
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Under ¥ HP Charged as fixtures

Y% HP to 10 HP (each) $ 16
Over 10 HP to 20 HP (each) $ 21
Over 20 HP to 30 HP (each) $ 31
Over 30 HP to 50 HP (each) $ 38
Over 50 HP to 75 HP (each) $ 46
Over 75 HP (each) $ 52

19, Outlets and rough wiring

20.

21

22,

23.

24.

25.

(1 to 20 lights, switches, or receptacles) $ 16
Each additional 10 outlets or fraction $ 7

Radio, television, telephone (towers, dishes, microwave, relay systems, etc.)

equipment $ 97

Service equipment, heavy-up, replacement, sub-panel, or relocation (Residential only);
0 to 400 Amp $§ 38 ‘
401 Amps and up $ 76

Signs (each Sign) $ 90

New Multi-family buildings (apartments, condominium dwelling units);
For each dwelling unit $230
(Common areas such as stairwells, laundry, and storage rooms are
charged as individual units for each panel or sub panel required.)

Existing multi-family buildings (apartments, condominium dwelling units);
For each dwelling unit $150
(Common areas such as stairwells, laundry, and storage rooms are

charged as individual units for each panel or sub panel required.)

One- and two-family dwellings and townhouses: This includes all branch circuit wiring,
temporaries-pending-final, equipment/applicances within the structure. These fees are also
applicable to alternative power source — such as but not limited to: photovoltaic, wind
turbine and generators switched with an automatic transfer switch. The flat fees for all
wiring, fixtures, appliances, etc., including temporaries pending final, are as follows:

Up to 200 Amp $ 230
14
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201 to 400 Amp
More than 400 Amp

26. Special deck inspections, slab concealment (each)
27. Sub-panels (Commercial)

0 to 400 Amp
401 Amps and up

28. Swimming pools, hot tubs, and spas, including circulating pumps,

fixtures, and receptacles
Bonding

29. Temporary wiring - carnivals, fairs, holiday decorations and

tree lots, etc. (Includes panels, fixtures, outlets, etc.)

30. Temporary for construction (Residential only)
31. Transformers (see motor schedule, item 18.)

32. Transformer vaults, duct banks

$ 335
$ 450
$ 46
5 38
5 76
§ 76
$ 21
$ 110
s 76

(outdoor transformer, énclosure substation, or a switch-and-meter

vault on private property including wiring)
33. X-ray machines (each)
34. Any low-voltage work not previously specified
1-20 devices
Each additional 10 or fraction thereof
. FElectrical License Fees
1. Electrical Examinations
Master Elecirician & Master Limited
Journeyman Electrician

Homeowner’s Elecirical FExamination Fee
Homeowner’s Electrical Re-Examination Fee

.o o P

$ 97

$ 16

$ 59
$ 38
$ 38
$ 3
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2. License and License Renewal Fees

a. Electrical Contractor (per year) $ 140
b. Master Electrician (per year) ' § 140
¢. Master Electrician (Limited) (per year) $ 140
d. Journeyman Electrician (per year) $ 359

e. Apprentice Electrician
(identification card) (per year) § 31
3. Duplicate license or identification card $ 31
4. Re-examination fee $ 31
5. Late-renewal fee $ 59

6. Electrical contractor change of business name or status $ 59
7. Electrician Good Standing Letter Fee $ 31
08.14.01.04 Fire-Code-Plan-Review Fees
A. General

1. All fees required by this section must be paid before any permit is released and
construction is started.

2. The minimum application filing fee is § 155.
3. Plan resubmittal means a new plan submitied, along with new permit application to
incorporate change(s) or correction(s) to a plan and application that was previously

denied.

4, Plan revisions are considered changes made by the applicast to the approved construction
documents. Revision fees are in addition to the original or maximum permit fees,

B. Fire-Protection-Systems Fees

1. Fire-alarm- and -detection systems (devices or household
control panel) $ 16 per device, Max $ 275/floor

16




MONTGOMERY COUNTY
EXECUTIVE REGULATION

Offices of the County Executive . 101 Monroe Street . Rockville, Maryland 20850

Subject:
Schedule of Fees for Permits, Licenses and Cerlifications —~ METHOD 2

Number; 14-13T

Originating Department: DEPARTMENT OF PERMITTING SERVICES

September 9, 2013
Effective Dafe:

2. Halon, CO2, or clean-agent systems
(including controls, alarms, detection)

Dry or wet chemical estinguishing systems $ 225 per system
3. Fire-sprinkler systems $ 3 perhead
4. Fire pumps _ $ 76

5. Standpipe systems:

a.  New systems (per standpipe riser)

$ 130

b.  Existing system (per each addition of a hose valve} § 38

C. Plan Resubmittal
1. First resubmittal
2. Second resubmitial

3. Each subsequent resubmittal

50% of original fee
75% of original fee

100% of original fee

D. Plan Revisions: Fee must be calculated as in item B above or shall be the application
filing fee per occurrence, whichever is greater. Revisions submitted on different dates

are considered separate occurrences.

08.14.01.05 Fire-Code Building Permit Inspection Fees

The base fee for fire protection system inspection is $60.00. The base fee for town homes and single
family detached dwellings is $85.00. The fees below alse apply to the initial inspection per phase of

construction of fire protection systems.

A. Fire Alarm and Detection (w/main control panel) $115 per story + $6 per device
(maximum $250 per story)

B. Fire Alarm and Dectection Systems — Devices only  $12 per device
minimum $115 ( maximum $250 per story)

C. Halon, CO2, or Clean Agent Systems $0.60 per pound of agent
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D. Sprinkler System | $2.30 per sprinkler head
E. Standpipe Systems $115 per riser
F. Added hose valves on existing Standpipe $30 per hose valve
G. Dry or Wet Chemical Extinguishing System $230 per system
H. Fire Pump $230 per pump
I.  Final Fire Code Inpsection for Use and Gccupancy
0 - 5,000 SF $210
5,001 - 10,000 SF $ 345
10,001 — 20,000 SF $ 415
20,001 SF and up $ 415 Plus

$0.01 per SF of area exceeding 20,001 SF

08.14.01.06 Certificate Fees
Capacity Certificate is $115 per assembly room; $5.00 for each duplicated certificate.

08.14.01.07 License Fee — Fire Protection/Detection Systems
The fee for any Fire Protection System License issued by DPS for a firm or individual to engage in the
business of installing, repairing, modifying, or servicing any fixed fire protection system.
$200 per calendar year
08.14.01.08 Vendor Fees
A. Application fee (non-refundable) $ 38
B. Operator Permit fee

1. For Non-Certified Agricultural Producers and their operators $ 38
2. For Certified Agricultural Producers and their operators $ 16

C. Point-of-Sale License for Vendors Who are not Certified Agricultural Producers

1. Base Rate (non-refundable) $ 295

2. Per site for Site-Specific Vendor $ 76
18 '
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D. Point-of-Sale License for Certified Agricultural Producers

1. Base Rate (non-refundable) | $ 76
2. Per site for Site-Specific Vendor $ 38

NOTE: A separate Point-of-Sale License is required for each vending activity at a site.

E. Temporary-Sales License

1. 60 consecutive days $ 190
2. Daily Rate $ 38
F. Performance Bond for Future-Delivery Vendor $ 1,305

08.14.01.09 Well-Location Permit
Well-Location Permit (Each well) $ 160
08.14.01.190 Miscellaneous

A. Filing fees and permit fees are based on fees in effect on the date the application
was filed. All other fees are based on fees in effect at the time the service is
requested (revision fee, extension fee, efc.),

B.  All fees in this schedule are subject to an additional 5% Automation
Enhancement Fee. (per Executive Regulation 13-13)

C. Refunds: Minimum permit filing and license fees are non-refundable. In the case
of an abandonment or discontinuance of a project under permit, the person who has
paid the permit fee may return the permit for cancellation and, upon cancellation,
may be refunded up to 50 percent of the fee paid, less the filing fee or minimum fee,
as appropriate, provided: {1) No construction has occurred, and (2) The written
request for refund is made prior to the expiration date of the permit, Revoked,
suspended, or invalid permits or licenses, or licenses or permils in litigation, are not
eligible for refunds.

D. Extensions: The fee to extend a permit, after written application and before the
expiration of the original permit, is the minimum permit fee applicable to the permit
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being extended.
E. Inspection Fees: (Does not include fire code inspection)

1. First or second approved inspection of the same item or stage of construction for
permitted work: Included in permit fee

2. Initial inspection of sites or property where work is proceeding without a permit
$110

3. Applicant requested partial inspection for residential (each occurrence). Each re-
inspection (residential or commercial) of the same item or stage of construction after two
disapprovals $110

4. The re-inspection fee must be paid before an additional inspection is scheduled.

F. Permit Application Revisions: The fee for revisions to permit information after
submission by the applicant is $ 59,

G. Plan revision, residential - room description name change $110
H. Construction-codes modifications or interpretations:

1. The fee for a construction-code-modification request for one- and two-family attached
and detached dwellings is $ 130.

2. The fee for a construction-code-modification request for all other buildings, including
multi-family dwellings, is $ 260.

3. The fee for a building permit construction-code modification request for fire codes is $300. -

I. Permit Denials: All permit requests that are denied because the applicant must apply to
the Board of Appeals for a variance must include a non-refundable § 59 processing fee.

08.14.01.11 Indexing Of Fees To Labor Cost Increases
The Director of Permitting Services must adjust each fee set in or under this regulation on July 1 of each

year by a percentage that does not exceed the rate of the increase (if any) in the department’s approved
personnel costs for the then-current fiscal year compared to the approved personnel costs for the
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preceding fiscal year.
For fees of $100 or more, the Director must calculate the revised fee to the nearest five dollars. For fees
under $100, the Director must calculate the revised fee to the nearest dollar.

The Director must publish the amount of this adjustment not later than July 1 of each year.

08.14.61.12 Severability

The provisions of these regulations are severable. If a court of competent jurisdiction holds that a
provision is invalid or inapplicable, the remainder of the regulation remains in effect.

75

/ " Isiah L‘eggétt,a:ounty Executive Sy

Approved as to form and legality:

e Opren 3)2013

Office of the Cdunty Attorney Date
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